JERICHO PROJECT: DAY 4

IMG_0172

Graces continue to flow out upon our mission here in General Cepeda.  Definitely saw the Lords hand moving today.  After our community morning prayer we went and visited with an amazing family that are missionaries here in there home town.  They have a real hunger and desire of being full time missionaries and si Dios Quiere (if God wants) to be missionaries with FMC.  They shared with us some of their struggles. All three of their children have been diagnosed with epilepsy, and have frequent seizures if not medicated.  The medication alone costs about $1800 pesos a month (less than 150 dollars) but its a majority of what they earn as teachers.

After our visit, we packed a lunch and headed out for a desert day. (a time of prayer and listening to the Lord out in the desert) I was led to 2 Corinthians 3:12-18.  What struck me was the line, “where the spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom.” We are praying that the spirit of the Lord rests on this place like it never has before and that the men here who have been enslaved in sin and addiction may be set free.  I was also blessed by the line, “since we have such a hope, we are very bold.” As I mentioned earlier, I feel like the Lord is calling me to be bold this year and to step out in faith.

We came back from our desert day and prayed our rosary.  Our friend Goya joined us as well as one of the ladies from yesterday, Santos, and of course Dona Agripina. As we finished our rosary, I saw a couple young boys sitting on the park bench.  Hugo and Marcos were probably about 10 years old, just hanging out waiting for a tienda (a little store) to open.  I asked them what they wanted to be when they grew up.  One said a Cowboy, I’m not sure what the other said.  I told them they were going to be missionaries, and they were like what’s that.  I explained it to them, they didn’t seem too interested, but the seed was planted.  I said goodbye to my new friends

Immediately after, a man named Francisco came by and asked If I could take a look at his house. I wasn’t exactly sure all that he was saying, something about pipes and sewage.  Dave and I went to go to take a look at it.  Turns out his house was a good little hike, but it gave us time to talk with him.  We started talking about his family, his wife is currently pregnant with their second child. I asked him if he was Catholic, he said of course. I then asked if he and his wife were married in the Church and he said no, that it was expensive.  I asked him how much it costs and he responded, Quien Save? (who knows). I asked him if he wanted to and he said yes. I hope we can help him and his wife.

We scoped out his house. Turns out his septic tank is full and he wants to tie into the city sewer.  All it would require is a little man power(digging through rocky soil) and about 3, 5 meter pipes.  Dave and I said we could probably help him in a couple weeks. We shared with him that we were starting a men’s bible study and asked if he was interested. He said he was.  I’m praying that he is a man of his word.

On our way home we stopped by to see some friends of ours, Chemo and Francisca and their beautiful girls.  They are an extremely poor family, and often come by the house for food.  Chemo has recently found some work caring for sheep in a different rancho.  Right before we got to their house we saw Jose Louis, a man who often hangs outside our house waiting for a ride. As it turns out he lives right next to Chemo and Francisca.  After talking to him for awhile we also shared with him about our bible study.  He seemed extremely interested and wanted to attend.

We came back and had a Lords day meal, followed by a community game night.  Graces are definitely being poured out upon this place and the Lord is preparing these walls to come crumbling down.  Tomorrow we have a small group arriving from Kansas.  Please pray for safe travels!

~ by martinsonmission on March 16, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
