Stretched

We are officially moved into our new home, the Casa de Misiones, in General Cepeda, Mexico.  On the evening of the January 1st we met up with the rest of our mission team and the group of short-term missionaries from Life Teen, drove through the night and arrived in the afternoon on the 2nd.  It was a bit hectic trying to get settled in the midst of the group but such a blessing being with so many of our close Life Teen missionary friends.  The group is now gone, and we are getting settled into our new home as a team.

teamThe Lord is stretching me.  I feel like I’m being tugged in each direction just past what is comfortable for me.  It’s amazing when I look back to just a couple years ago, before I had children what seemed difficult to me, what felt like a stretch, what was out of my comfort zone.  Now I think about those things and laugh at how easy and normal they seem.  Time to myself…what’s that?  And yet, somehow the Lord is finding those few free moments in my day and asking for them as well.  And that is okay.

I am realizing more and more each day how much God desires my holiness.  He desires that I be stretched and drawn out of my comfort zone so that I can grow into His likeness.  And God has every right to call me out of my comfort zone since He Himself left the comfort of Heaven to become man and die for me.  I say I desire to be a Saint and the Lord is holding me to my word.

The past week and a half has been beautiful, busy, hectic, overwhelming and a reminder that, at the end of the day, all we can say is, “We are unprofitable servants; we have done what we were obliged to do.'” Lk 17:10

I’ve found myself saying often, “God, this is a lot”…mostly at times like when both my girls are screaming and I’m trying to calm them down, or it’s nap time, the girls have settled, and I finally have a minute to sit and have my personal prayer time when there’s a knock at the front door for the 10th time this morning, and I am the main (or sometimes only) Spanish speaker in the house.  “Praise You, Jesus!  Help me to love whoever this is,” I say under my breath and go to see who God has sent to us to share His love with this morning.

IMG_5193

It’s been a challenging week, though.  Not everyone that comes to the door is easy to love.  Sometimes they seem to be trying to cheat you or lie to you.  Sometimes it’s the same person that has come every day asking for food, coffee, medicine, shoes or whatever else they think we might happen to have.  Sometimes they ask to use your restroom and walk out of the house with all of your shampoo, face wash and lotion.  And still God asks us to love.

IMG_3839Yesterday in my personal prayer time I read Matthew 14, which was so appropriate.  Jesus has just found out that His cousin, John the Baptist, has been killed, so He goes off by Himself to a lonely place.  But the crowds heard and followed Him on foot.  When Jesus saw them, He had compassion on them and He healed their sick.  At the end of the day, the disciples tell Jesus to send the people away to find food, but Jesus says to them, “They need not go away; you give them something to eat.”  Then they tell Jesus that they only have 5 loaves and 2 fish, and Jesus takes the little that they have and multiplies it to provide for over 5,000 people, and there are 12 baskets of leftovers.

Jesus desires to use us in the midst of our poverty.  He wants to show us that it is His work because there is no way that we could do it on our own without His help to provide for and love His children.  When I am tired from my baby waking up in the night, He wants me to call on His grace to patiently love and serve.  When the same woman comes back for the 5th time this week, He wants me to love her with His love, through His heart.

So often I try to be holy on my own.  I want to show God that I love Him by doing it myself, through my own power. He has placed me where it is completely impossible for me to be holy without calling on His help and grace at every moment.  He’s not afraid to ask these difficult things of me because He knows that it is for my own good.  He desires me to be a Saint even more than I do.  So I will gladly bear the pains of being stretched, knowing that it is for the greater good of bearing Christ to the world.

~ by martinsonmission on January 12, 2014.

One Response to “Stretched”

  1. This is awesome!!! Feels like a flashback 🙂 Love y’all!

Leave a Reply

 
