Things Jesus Never Said

Things Jesus Never Said

As I sit here in Mexico next to my sleeping daughter Theresa, who has been sick throwing up all morning and tripped and chipped her front tooth yesterday on a tile floor, I can’t help but think of the scripture verses in Sirach Chapter 2. “My child, when you come to serve the Lord, prepare yourself for trials.” (Sirach 2:1)

IMG_4929

Sure sickness and a chipped tooth are common things for any parent, children are expected to get the flu, other sicknesses and injuries throughout their life, but it’s just not the same when you are in a foreign country on mission. It seems like you are filled with much more concern and worry, you may not have the comforts that you have in the states, like a washing machine to wash clothes and blankets soaked from throw-up or a Walmart down the street to run to get some Pedia-lite. But Jesus never said, “Sit back bro, and relax. It’s gonna be a smooth ride.”

Are You Going to Take Your Children?

Whenever we go on Mission, one of the first questions people ask us is, “Are you going to take your children?” One can understand this question considering that our children are 21 months and 4 months old, however, they are the greatest little missionaries and we are a missionary family! We could not possibly think of robbing them of experiencing the greatest life and from witnessing the glory of God daily in missions.

What this requires, though as Sirach 2:2 tells us, is trust and to be “sincere of heart and steadfast and to not be impetuous in times of adversity, ”. (Oh by the way, there is no greater bond than shared adversity, thank you my good friend, Michael Barry, for your Marine tip of the day!) I didn’t know what impetuous meant so I looked it up, and according to Webster, it means, “acting or done quickly and without thought: controlled by emotion rather than thought”.

How easy it is to act out of emotion, especially when your child is sick in another country on mission. It’s so easy to say, “That’s it, were packing up and heading home!” But Jesus didn’t say follow me unless it gets hard, or preach the gospel to the nations unless your child gets sick. We are called to trust in Him, to be sincere of heart, steadfast and not impetuous.

Cling to Him

So how are you supposed to have the strength? How are you supposed to survive in missions, or in life, when it seems like everything around you is falling apart and going awry? The third verse in Sirach 2 tells us how, “cling to Him and do not leave Him”. It’s a horrible feeling as a parent watching your child suffer through a sickness or any other ailment. I wonder what kind of pain Mary, our Blessed Mother, must have felt watching her Son be scourged and crucified. I think what pained her the most, though, was when those that were closest to her Son fled and left when things got a little hairy. She offers us a great model to follow while parenting in missions. Again, Jesus didn’t say carry your cross unless it gets too heavy. When things get hard, and they will, we are called to cling to Him and to never leave Him. For as the Psalmist says, “I love you, LORD, my strength, LORD, my rock, my fortress, my deliverer, my God, my rock of refuge, my shield, my saving horn, my stronghold! Praised be the LORD, I exclaim!” (Psalm 18: 2-4)

Worthy of Our Trust

Over the years I have learned that the Lord is trustworthy. If we look at scripture, there is probably no other biblical theme driven home as much as trusting in the Lord. I have seen it in my own life as well, in difficult times, how I trusted in the Lord and was not disappointed. We see it throughout the rest of this chapter in Sirach. My favorite part is verse 10, “Consider the ancient generations and see: who ever trusted in the Lord and was put to shame? Or who ever persevered in His commandments and was forsaken? Or who ever called upon Him and was overlooked?”

Jesus is faithful and worthy of our trust. He has been and will continue to be through the ages. He is not just calling me to trust Him with my life, but with the lives of my children and my wife. He is calling me to trust Him with my finances, with my fears, when things get rough. It’s freeing to know as a man that I do not have to worry about providing or protecting my family, I am not burdened by that weight. I only have to be faithful, trust in Him and know full well that He will provide and protect my family. (Matthew 6:25-34) Thank you Jesus for being my rock, my refuge and the safeguard of our family. Thank you for sick children, thank you for the trials that you allow us to face, and thank you for your grace being sufficient for us!

~ by martinsonmission on November 17, 2013.

One Response to “Things Jesus Never Said”

  1. Amen Brother! I am thankful for this reminder. Love to you and your family!

Leave a Reply

 
