The Gift of Ghana

An Invitation And A Gift

I think sometimes we have the tendency to feel like we don’t deserve for God to bless us or provide for us, so instead we try to take matters into our own hands and close ourselves off from what He wants to bless us with…but how much we miss out on when we do this!  As I prayed about going on the three week mission trip to Ghana, Africa, I heard the Lord say to me, “Why don’t you let me love you with this?”  I kept saying to the Lord, “I don’t want to be selfish.” I knew I wanted to go to Ghana, but I felt like it had to be too good to be true.  It has always been my dream to go to Africa, and I didn’t feel like I deserved  to be so blessed. But as I continued to pray and seek the Lord’s will, those words began to resound in my heart; “Why don’t you let me love you with this?”…An Invitation.  It was an invitation to let go of my control, humble myself and open myself up to all the love that He wanted to pour into me.  And oh, did He pour it out!

It was all GIFT!  Every moment of my time in Ghana was a gift and blessing.

As I walked off the plane into this new adventure called Africa, I sensed the immensity of the Father’s love for me.  I sensed Him loving me in every little thing: every smile, every hug, every song, every bucket bath and each time I hand washed my clothes. In the way the Ghanians prayed and danced and praised the Lord, I experienced a bit of heaven made present on earth.  In the Masses that lasted three hours because the people were there to worship God and not just fulfill a commitment, I was challenged to go deeper and to open myself more and more to His transforming love.

The Lord loved me well in Ghana…and here are some of the ways that He loved me…

Paul and Bernice continuing to praise the Lord and dance after arriving home from a 4 hour Mass!

(Paul and Bernice Otoo and their three small children are full time local missionaries in Ghana.  They opened their home to the 12 of us, plus several local young adults and invited us into their ministries and life in Ghana.)

Squeezed in the van on our way to Mass

Kids playing a Ghanian game in the village

My beautiful friend, Grace, and her 10th child, Prince, on her back! Grace and I visited one day at the village while the others were playing soccer.  A week or so later, I was so blessed when I heard from the other missionaries that she was looking for me by name.


~ by martinsonmission on September 8, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
