Saying Goodbye

Saying Goodbye to our Spanish Family

After two years, the Lord has called us out of Spain.  It has been a long process of discernment and at the same time a quick change for us.  The six new missionaries came to visit as a time of trial and discernment, and in the end we all felt the Lord’s call to leave Spain…at least for a time.

It has been a bittersweet decision to leave, with many tears but much peace, knowing that our God has good plans for us.  I find much comfort in St. Paul’s words that, “The Son of God, Jesus Christ…was never Yes-and-No; His nature is all Yes.  For in HiM is found the Yes to all God’s promises and therefore it is ‘through Him’ that we answer ‘Amen’ to give praise to God.” 2 Cor 1:19-20.

As we said goodbye to our friends and family in Spain, it sometimes felt like God was saying a big “No”, but we have hope and peace knowing that He is all “Yes”!  As He closes this door and season of my life, I say “Amen. Blessed be Your name! I want it all…all that You have for me”.

I will be moving to Louisiana to stay tied into the FMC community while I work to pay off my student loans.  I still very much feel called to be a missionary and hope to finish paying off my loans as quickly as possible so that I can be free to return to full time missions.

It is impossible to describe how much the people of Spain mean to me and how much I have been blessed in my two years living and serving in Cordoba.  As Bishop Juan Jose said to us in the Mass the night we left, our first home might be the USA, but Spain is our second home.


Our last night in Cordoba was the Confirmation Mass of some of our friends.  Bishop Juan Jose honored and thanked us as he sent us off with his blessing.

THANK YOU, JESUS, FOR AN AMAZING TWO YEARS IN CORDOBA!

~ by martinsonmission on March 3, 2010.

2 Responses to “Saying Goodbye”

  1. Looks like you had a blast! What a blessing. It’s perfect… it’s awesome how doing God’s will and such important work, spreading the Gospel, can lead to amazing experiences like you had. Thanks for posting these pics so we can get a glimpse of it. We’re praying for you and we’re proud of you and your work. Hope to see you again soon.

  2. You are officially on Google!! All people have to do is enter Bridget Kohring and they can find your blog. I am blown away at the amount of information you have entered on this site! You really have been a part of a lot of amazing things. I’m glad you are doing well. Keep in touch.

Leave a Reply

 
